GCI is upgrading our eMail Guard application to a new application called MailGuard. If you have a MailGuard folder on your account, then please continue to view this article. Currently this applies to email addresses with the domain of ak.net. (Example is email@example.com) All other email accounts are still using our eMail Guard application and should use this article to answer questions.
GCI is pleased to announce that your email Spam and virus filtering service has been upgraded. We are confident you will find it effective and easy to use! Enhancements include:
- Enhanced virus filtering
- Reduced filtering of legitimate messages
- The ability to check quarantined messages from GCI’s Webmail, your desktop client or a smartphone
This upgrade is FREE and no action is required on your part.
To learn more about how your new email Spam and virus protection works, check out the frequently asked questions below.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
You will no longer need to click the Email Guard button within webmail to access your quarantined emails. Any Spam or virus messages will automatically be delivered to a folder labeled MailGuard. The folder is located under your inbox where the other system folders (Drafts, Sent, and Trash) are found. Even better the MailGuard folder will be accessible through webmail, your desktop mail client, and even your smart phone!
The approved and blocked senders list are now titled whitelist senders and blacklist senders.
Anti-Spam Settings now control your Whitelist senders (Approved List), these settings direct email to your Inbox, click here for those steps.
Anti-Spam Settings now control your Blacklist senders (Blocked List). These settings direct email into the MailGuard folder, click here for those steps. GCI is seeing customers report mail as spam, when they provided their email address to different sources, such as retail stores or other business. If you do not want to receive those messages, GCI recommends opting out of the email, rather than adding them to a Blocked List.
No, access to this old application was available for three 3 weeks, which means that any content captured would have automatically been delete after two (2) weeks. If you believe your contacts did not properly convert, please contact GCI technical support for assistance with contacts.
How do I manage the MailGuard folder?
The MailGuard folder can be handled the same as any other folder in GCI’s WebMail program. Please see this article, Managing the MailGuard Folder, by clicking here, for more information.
Yes! GCI’s has partnered with Symantec Brightmail Message Filtering to guarantee the best protection possible. 97% of all Spam will be prevented with a less than one in a million false positive rate, we are sure you’ll see the difference!
No. Spam messages will automatically be removed after 14 days. Of course you are welcome to delete any messages that may end up in your MailGuard folder however it is not necessary. Worried about your email storage space? Don’t be, GCI has just upgraded all customer email accounts to a minimum of 1 gigabyte of storage!
The virus will be removed however the message text will still be delivered into your MailGuard folder.
Simply move any messages you want to keep into your inbox (or any other folder) as you would any other email message. To move your messages, simply drag the message and drop it into your inbox or other folder. If you need to all multiple messages, you may also click More from the menu bar, Select all then drag all to your desired folder. . Once a message is moved out of your MailGuard folder it will not automatically be deleted after 14 days.
If you accidentally delete your MailGuard folder, it will automatically be recreated for you the next time you receive a spam message, however any messages within that folder will remain deleted.
GCI will be moving all email accounts to the new system over the next couple of weeks. Since all customers use the same webmail application, the Email Guard button will remain active during that time and for a period afterward to ensure all users are aware of this change.